Home  ||  Art  |  Books |  Dance  |  Garden  | Homestead |  Music | Recumbents | Schedule |  Violins  ||  Contact 


ManyTracks
Home

GARDEN

Beans
Books
Cold Frames
Cole Crops
Compost
Corn
Cucumbers
Grapes
Green Manure
Horseradish
Seed Sources
Potting Soil

Raised Beds
Rhubarb

Scythe
Sifters
Strawberries
Tomatoes

Q & A & Notes

Contact Me

 

ManyTracks Organic Gardening
 
with Sue Robishaw

Bookmark and Share
 

NEW! Get your eBook version of
"Frost Dancing"

 



and
"Homesteading Adventures"
 



 

Homestead
   Articles

 



 

seed packets

Independent Seed Companies
~
Sources for Open Pollinated and Heirloom
Garden Seeds

Three decades of Growing Good Food in the Northwoods of Michigan's Upper Peninsula
~ ~ ~
Down to Earth Information, Experiences, Thoughts

There are many reasons to plant open pollinated and heirloom varieties and to support the independent growers and sellers. Most gardeners do so for a variety of reasons. The important thing is that they are doing it, and so can you. And it's fun! You'll find varieties you never dreamed of, many that are particularly suited for home gardeners in challenging climates.

Here is a list of independent seed companies that sell open pollinated and heirloom varieties. Many of these companies are small family businesses whose owners are dedicated to the growing and preservation of a great diversity of many old varieties. They are engaged in an ethical and healthy business with a wonderful respect for the seeds and the people growing them. Please be understanding when contacting them particularly during the busy planting and harvesting times. All of these companies strongly support and promote non-hybrid, usually organic, seed. Most are also actively involved in or are a part of a seed preservation organization. Be prepared for a much more interesting array of choices than you get from the "one-size-fits-all" sameness that usually arrives in your mailbox mid-winter.

Abundant Life Seeds  ~  www.abundantlifeseeds.com
         
PO Box 279, Cottage Grove, OR 97424-0010
          

Bountiful Gardens
  ~ 
www.bountifulgardens.org
           18001 Shafer Ranch Rd, Willits, CA 95490

          
Fedco Seeds / Trees  ~  www.fedcoseeds.com
         
PO Box 520, Waterville, ME 04903
          
Filaree Farm (garlic)  ~  www.filareefarm.com
          182 Concunully Hwy, Okanogan, WA 98840
          
Fisher’s Seeds  ~ 
406-388-6052
          PO Box 236, Belgrade, MT 59714
         
High Altitude Gardens  ~ 
www.seedstrust.com
          Seeds Trust, PO Box 596, Cornville, AZ 86325
            

High Mowing
Seeds  ~ 
www.highmowingseeds.com
          76 Quarry Rd, Walcott, VT 05680
          
Irish Eyes-Garden City Seeds  ~  www.irish-eyes.com
          PO Box 307, Thorp, WA 98946
          
Maine Seed Saving Network  ~  207-326-0751
          PO Box 126, Penobscot, ME 04476
          
Native Seeds/SEARCH  ~  www.nativeseeds.org
          526 N 4th Ave, Tucson, AZ 8670
         

Old Sturbridge Village  ~  www.osv.org
          1 Old S. V. Rd, Sturbridge, MA 01566
          
Plum Creek Seeds (Kathleen Plunket-Black)  ~  725-647-3033
           N3528 Co Rd D, Arkansaw, WI   54721

          

Prairie Garden Seeds  ~  www.prseeds.ca
          Box 2758, Humboldt, SK S0K 2A0

Ronnigers Potato Farm  ~ 
www.ronnigers.com
          12101 - 2135 Rd, Austin, CO 81410
          
Sand Hill Preservation Center  ~  www.sandhillpreservation.com
          1878 - 230th St., Calamus, IA 52729  

Seed Savers Exchange  ~  www.seedsavers.org
          3076 North Winn Rd, Decorah, IA 52101
          
Seeds of Diversity Canada  ~  www.seeds.ca    
          Box 36, Station Q, Toronto, ON, M4T 2L7
          
Southern Exposure Seed Exchange  ~  www.southernexposure.com
         
PO Box 460, Mineral, VA 23117

Territorial Seed Company  ~  www.territorial-seed.com
          PO Box 158, Cottage Grove, OR 97424
          
Terrior Seeds / Underwood Gardens  ~  www.underwoodgardens.com
         
P.O. Box 4995, Chino Valley AZ 86323
          
Wood Prairie Farm (potatoes)  ~  www.woodprairie.com  
          49 Kinney Rd., Bridgewater, ME 04735
  

* * * * * *

Updated December 2009 by Susan Robishaw
 


Back to top

To comment
, ask questions, or just say Hi - click here  Contact Us. We enjoy hearing from our visitors!

Enjoy these articles? Feel free to leave a tip!  All donations go toward public service performances -- providing live music where it might otherwise not be heard.   

Click on the Donate Button at left to use your Credit Cards logos
 ~~~ Thank You!! ~~~


* Should you want to use all or part of one of our articles in a non-profit publication, website or blog we simply ask that you give proper credit and link (such as "article by Sue Robishaw/Steve Schmeck from www.ManyTracks.com"), and we'd enjoy knowing where it is used. Thanks!

       We always appreciate links to our site www.ManyTracks.com from appropriate sites, and we thank you for recommending us!

Have you read  "Frost Dancing - Tips from a Northern Gardener"

  Print  or NEW! eBook version  
And  "Homesteading Adventures  
Building and living our backwoods homestead, the first 20 years, with lively fun and practical how-to. Print or eBook!

updated 04/03/2014

     Home  ||  Art  |  Books |  Dance  |  Garden  | Homestead |  Music | Recumbents | Schedule |  Violins  ||  Contact